Wiltshire Publications

Westbury Rugby Club Annual Dinner Presentation

This entry was posted on Tuesday, May 9th, 2017 at 12:26 pm.

Westbury Rugby Club, Men’s Section, held their Annual Dinner and Presentation evening on Saturday 6th May at Knott Field Clubhouse.

Before presenting the awards the club chairman, Gareth Vaughan said that it had been a difficult year for the club with the 1st XV finishing mid table and the 2nd XV struggling to fulfil some of its fixtures.

On the bright side though, the Ladies Team had been unbeaten all season and the Junior Section had continued to progress under the leadership of Julian Phelps.

Off the field improvements had been made with new changing facilities being installed and ongoing work to the Club infrastructure continuing.

The awards were as follows: Chairman’s Shield – Jack Bates (for his work coaching the ladies team). Clubman of the Year – Keith Biggs, Paul Couzens and Peter Earney (shared by the maintenance team). 1st XV Captain’s Cup – Marcus Holstead. 2nd XV Captain’s Cup – Grant Truckle. 1st XV Players’ Player – Aaron Vaughan; 2nd XV Players’ Player – Paul Dolman.

Colt of the Year – Ferran Adams. Most Improved Player – Sam Pascoe. Coaches’ Seal of Achievement – Nathan Brown. Personality of the Year – Ryan Knight. Supporter of the Year – Richard McEvoy. Mike Stevens’ Long Service Award – Lee Adams. Most Valuable Person – Carrie Needham (for her work in fund raising and administration). Junior Coach Cup – Peter Cryer